The South Carolina Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (ADSAP) is a statewide education and treatment program for:

  • Individuals who are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI)
  • Individuals who are referred by the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources for boating under the influence (BUI)
  • Individuals whose licenses are suspended through the state's Administrative License Revocation (ALR) procedure. Drivers fall in this category if they are charged under the provisions known as "zero tolerance" (which targets drivers under age 21) or ".15" (which is in addition to a charge of DUI for drivers of any age who operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration [BAC] of .15 percent or greater). An individual also is subject to ALR if he refuses to take a blood, breath or urine test for the presence of alcohol or other drugs.

Requirements for enrollment 
      • 10 year driving record
      • Valid form of picture ID (drivers license, state ID, passport).
      • Fees charged are based on assessment.  Mininum fee for ADSAP is $500. 
      • We request you bring a partial payment of $250 at enrollment (cash, check, or charge).
      • Contact office if financial arrangements need to be made.

Because thousands of South Carolinians are killed or injured each year in alcohol- or other drug-related crashes, ADSAP works with offenders to reduce the number of crashes that result in death, injury or property damage.

South Carolina law requires a person whose driver's license has been suspended as the result of a DUI conviction, ALR or Zero Tolerance Suspension to successfully complete an ADSAP before he or she can apply to the South Carolina Department of Public Safety (SCDPS) for reinstatement of his or her drivers license. Keystone Substance Abuse Services works with the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles to provide an educational program for clients who have been convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI). This program includes an assessment and some clients may be referred, if necessary, to a higher level of care in order to successfully complete the legal requirements for the reinstatement of a driver’s license.

The SCDPS will not consider reinstatement until it receives notification of successful completion of the program. ADSAP services are certified by the South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services and are available in each of the state's county alcohol and drug abuse authorities.

Education groups are offered weekdays, weeknights and weekends. Treatment Groups are offered weekdays and weeknights.

Walk in Assessment Times:
Monday — Friday 8:00 to 10:00 am

Monday—Wednesday 1:00 to 2:00 pm

Other times available:  call (803) 324-1800

For more information, contact us at 803-324-1800 or